54 Parliamentarians retain their seats

By Duncan Mlanjira 

This year’s Parliamentary elections have been intriguing in that most of those who have fallen have been the ones who triumphed over the ones who have now been voted in 2014 elections.

In Chitipa East, Chizamsoka Oliver Mulwafu of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) won the elections in 2014, beating Kezzie Kasambala Msukwa of the Malawi Congress Party (MCP) and this time it is the reversal of roles.

Bande, back in House

In Karonga Central, independent Frank Tumpale Mwenifumbo, who was also the United Democratic Front (UDF) presidential running mate has called to the winner he trounced in 2014, Cornelius Mwalwanda of the (MCP).

Symon Vuwa Kaunda (DPP) goes into the august House representing Nkhata Bay Central having beaten Raphael Mhone (PP), who had won in 2014 while in Mzimba North East Catherine Gotani Hara is back by replacing Olipa Chiluba.

Blantyre North East has also seen independent Fidson Chisesele back in the House to replace Cecilia Emily Chazama (DPP) as well as in Blantyre City East where John Bande has reclaimed his post from UTM’s Noel Masangwi.

MCP’s Karim makes it back

Those who have retained their seats are 54 in the following constituencies:

Chitipa South 

Werani Chilenga (PP)

Karonga North West 

James Bond Kamwambi (DPP)

Rumphi East 

Kamlepo Kalua (PP)

Suleman has made it this time

Rumphi North 

Jappie Mhango (independent)

Nkhata Bay South East 

Noah Chilmpeni (PP)


Mzimba Solola 

Jacob Hara (MCP)

Kasungu North West 

Baudeni Mphatso Mtonga (MCP)

Kasungu East 

Madalitso Fred Kazombo (MCP)

Bisnowaty lost his seat

Nkhotakota North East  

Martha Lunji Chanjo (independent)

Nkhotakota Central 

Peter Mavuto Mazizi (MCP)

Ntchisi North East 

Olipa Chimangeni (MCP)

Dowa East 

Richard Chimwendo Banda (MCP)

Abida Mia (right) makes it

Dowa North East 

Samuel Dalitso Kawale (MCP)

Dowa North 

Enos Kanyerere Chitanga (MCP)

Salima North 

Canaan Kaphamtengo (MCP)

Mchinji South West 

Deus Gumba Banda (MCP)

Mapuyu North 

Horace Levas Chipuwa (MCP)

Nomale replaces Henry Mussa

Lilongwe Mpenu Nkhoma 

Collins Kajawa (independent)

Lilongwe East 

Ezekiel Peter Ching’oma (MCP)

Lilongwe Central 

Lobin Lowe (MCP)

Chakwera made it back

Lilongwe North West 

Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera (MCP)

Lilongwe Msinja South 

Lingson Belekanyama (MCP)

Dedza South West 

Clement Mlombwa (MCP)

Mwanamveka and Ben Phiri

Ntcheu South 

Damson Chimaliro (DPP)

Mangochi North 

Benedicto Adwell Chambo (independent)

Mangochi North East 

Idi Kalosi (UDF)

Mangochi Malombe 

Misolo Mussa Kapichira (UDF)

Mangochi South 

Lilian Estella Patel (UDF)

Chimulirenji lost his seat but is the Veep

Mangochi Nkungulu 

Aisha Mambo Adams (UDF)

Mangochi West 

Geoffrey Meleka Chiwondo (Independent)

Mangochi Monkey Bay 

Ralph Pachalo Jooma (PP)

Machinga East 

Esther Jolobala JailosI (Independent)

President Mutharika

Machinga South 

Grant Ndecha (UDF)

Zomba Changalume 

John Chikalimba (PP)

Chiradzulu South 

Joseph Mwanamvekha (DPP)

Blantyre North

Francis Phisso (DPP)

Blantyre Rural East 

Susan Ndalama (DPP)

Blantyre South West 

Kennedy Pemba Kachingwe (DPP)

Mwanza Central 

Nicholas Dausi (DPP)

Thyolo West 

Charles Mchacha (DPP)

Thyolo Thava 

Mary Navicha (DPP)

Phalombe South  

Mary Connie Livuza Mpanga (Independent)

Phalombe North 

Anna Kachikho (DPP)

Phalombe East 

Robert Mwanamveka (Independent)

Phalombe North East

Dennis Namachekecha (Independent)

Mulanje South East  

Naomi Kilekwa (DPP)

Mulanje Central 

Kondwani Nankhumwa (DPP)

Mulanje Limbuli 

Daudi Abiyani (DPP)

Mulanje Bale  

Victor Musowa (DPP)

Mulanje South West 

George Chaponda (DPP)

Mulanje North 

Lyana Lexa Tambala (Independent)

Chikhwawa South 

Ilyas Abdul Karim (MCP)

Chikhwawa East 

Rodrick Samu Khumbanyiwa (UDF)

Nsanje Central 

Francis Lazalo Kasaila (DPP)

Nsanje North 

Esther Mcheka Chilenje (DPP)